32.5 C
Sunday, April 21, 2024

Popular Articles

Karnataka is set to recognise Tulu as a second official language

Tulu is probably going to replace Kannada as the second official language of Karnataka. A committee has already been established in this regard, and it will present the state government with its report shortly.

- Advertisement -

“Regarding the designation of Tulu as the second official language of Karnataka, a committee has been created under the chairmanship of Dr. Mohan Alva to undertake a research and deliver a report with appropriate recommendations,” wrote Sunil Kumar, the minister of energy and culture for Karnataka, in a tweet.

It has long been demanded that Tulu be made the second official language, and in 2008, previous chief minister BS Yediyurappa also stated that Tulu would be made the official language. Additionally, there were numerous initiatives to declare Tulu the official language because it is widely spoken in coastal Karnataka, particularly in the districts of Udupi and Mangaluru.

In addition to Kannada and Tulu, the state’s various regions also speak Kodava, Byari, and Koraga. In India, there are currently 22 recognised official languages, including Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Bodo, Santhali, Maithili, and Dogri.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Recent Articles

Starry-Eyed Shenanigans in Hebri : A Cosmic Encounter

In the heart of Hebri, our group of fellow adventurers, all eager for a night under the stars. With excitement in tow, we set...

CFAL Celebrates a Perfect 100% Success Rate in 2nd PUC Exams!

Centre for Advanced Learning (CFAL), a leading educational institution known for its commitment to fostering academic excellence, is thrilled to announce a 100% success...